As energy networks move to increase engagement with third party innovators, competition for a place on this year’s shortlist is set to be fierce.

Innovation scout and industry partner of PNDC, the Energy Innovation Centre (EIC), is once again searching for SME innovators with ground-breaking technologies that have the potential to help UK distribution networks address their major energy challenges.

Now in its eighth year, the UK Energy Innovation Awards offer an unprecedented opportunity for energy networks and third-party innovators to come together and celebrate the ideas and technologies that offer benefits to customers, industry and the supply chain.

Distribution networks Wales and West, Northern Gas Networks, SP Energy Networks, Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks and National Grid are confirmed sponsors for this year’s awards, along with the University of Strathclyde’s Power Networks Demonstration Centre and previous UK Energy Innovation Awards winner, Kelvatek.

This year’s awards include 12 categories, including a new award for 2017 sponsored by Scottish and Southern Electricity Networks (SSEN).

The PNDC CEO David Rutherford will be presenting the best smart grid innovation award.

This year a new Losses Award,  will offer a cash prize of £5,000 for first place, £3,000 for second and £2,000 for third, recognises innovative technologies, practices or solutions that could lead to a reduction in distribution network costs.

The full list of award categories include:

  • Best electricity network improvement
  • Best gas network improvement
  • Best innovation implemented or adopted by a contractor
  • Best innovation contributing to quality and reliability of electricity supply
  • Best innovation contributing to quality and reliability of gas supply
  • Best international trade award
  • Best offshore renewables innovation
  • Best safety innovation
  • Environmental impact
  • Best smart grid innovation
  • Best University Technology
  • Losses Award


Denise Massey, managing director of the Energy Innovation Centre and head of the awards judging panel, said: “The EIC and its industry partners have always championed the role of SMEs and non-network businesses in enabling innovation within the energy sector.

“The UK Energy Innovation Awards remain the only platform that recognises the impact of these innovators and the value that they can potentially offer to both customers and industry, and we believe this is the reason they continue to thrive year-on-year.

“However, we don’t intend to rest on our laurels. We’re introducing a number of exciting changes in 2017, including taking the event to Liverpool for the first time, which will make this year’s awards the biggest and best yet.”

Joining Denise on the judging panel will be a host of industry experts including chief executive officer of Northern Gas Networks and EIC chairman, Mark Horsley.

The awards ceremony will be hosted at the Titanic Hotel, Liverpool on Thursday, 28th September 2017 where the shortlisted nominees will be invited to a dinner alongside the EIC’s energy network partners.

The PNDC would encourage all of the innovative components we have worked with over the last 12 months to submit an application.

For more information about the awards or how to enter, visit the EIC website.